Houmous

Houmous

Houmous for me is an extremely personal thing. Everyone has their own style of houmous, whether it be thick and chunky, smooth and whipped or with/without garlic.

The first houmous I remember trying was in Cyprus where my father is from. I have no recollection of what exact age I was when the holy dip was first introduced into my diet, but let’s just say I don’t remember life without it – and I have a scarily excellent memory. Houmous in Cyprus always had a lot more tahini in it than most, which effected the consistency making it smoother and thinner. When I taste that houmous I know I’m home!

However, although that little trip down memory lane was lovely, my houmous is not that houmous at all. I prefer a balance of ingredients and flavours, a thick yet smooth consistency with an indulgent garnishing of chickpeas, smoked paprika and of course my beloved – olive oil.

Grab some khoubiz people, it’s houmous time.

Note: Unlike my other recipes I shall be displaying units of measurement in cups. This is purely because whenever I make houmous I whack out my measuring cups and forget about those uptight, precise scales.

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups precooked chickpeas, plus a handful reserved for garnish (I recommend jarred instead of tinned)
  • ¾ cup tahini
  • ½ – ¾ cup lemon juice
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed with some salt
  • Salt and pepper (unorthodox – I know)
  • Olive oil
  • Smoked paprika
  • Water

Method:

Drain and rinse chickpeas then purée in a blender. Add to the chickpeas around 3 tablespoons of olive oil, crushed garlic, a sprinkle of salt and pepper and blend.

Add half the tahini and half the lemon juice and blend, add the rest then blend again. Transfer the houmous to a bowl to finish the job by hand.

Taste the houmous, add more olive oil, lemon juice, tahini or salt as preferred. To thin the houmous add tiny splashes of cold water until the desired texture is achieved.

Serve by garnishing with the reserved chickpeas, a healthy drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkle of smoked paprika.

One response

  1. Man i tried making humous once and it failed miserably i couldnt get the consistency right i think you need a super strong blender. I shall try again using this recipe… looks delicious xxx

Leave a Reply

