Christmas Cooking: Mincemeat

What is Christmas without mince pies? Not Christmas. Obviously…

Mince pies are the epitome of Christmas! Possibly more important than, dare I say it, the Christmas turkey.

Of course you could go out and buy a jar of mincemeat and pre-made shortcrust pastry to make your little pies of joy, but let’s face it – homemade is better.

So since it is the season of giving, I offer you my take on the traditional mincemeat filling. Ditch the suet and the booze (shock horror), throw in some jellied quince, and a whole lot of love.

The finished mince pies are still to come….!

Ingredients:

  • 100g good quality unsalted butter (I use Lescure)
  • 100g jellied quince
  • 25g slivered almonds
  • 175g raisins
  • 175g sultanas
  • 110g candied peel
  • 25g brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • Zest and juice of half an orange

Method:

In a heavy bottomed pan, slowly melt the butter and quince jelly on a low-medium heat. Once melted, add the rest for the ingredients and cook gently whilst stirring occasionally for 15 minutes.

Either use immediately or store in steralised jars with wax discs for…basically the end of time. Though I suggest eating the mincemeat within the year.

Yields around 600g of mincemeat.

4 responses

  1. I love mincemeat and will definitely try your recipe. I just did a post earlier today about a mincemeat pie that I made…it seems that I’m not the only person that thinks that you must have mincemeat during the Christmas season.

    • I love the idea of one large mince pie! I’m always glad to hear when someone loves mincemeat as much as I do! Unfortunately I know a fair few people who really dislike it. Oh well – more for us 🙂

  2. Pingback: Christmas Cooking: Mince Pies « Indulge & Devour

  3. Pingback: Christmas Cooking: Mince Pies « Indulge & Devour

Leave a Reply

