Simple Pea and Feta Salad

Ok I admit it, I took the ‘it’s Christmas so I can eat what I want’ idea a little too far. So January, old pal, seeing as we’ve never really gotten on, what with broken resolutions and empty bank accounts, I figured this year I’d make an effort.

No more late nights in front of the TV, tub of ice cream in one hand, spoon in the other, oh no. This year, I’ve swapped my January blues for fitness. Boot camp training, to be precise.

With boot camp comes running, and with running comes Cartman-esque ‘so tired…can’t breathe…!’. So to make up for my poor stamina, I’m eating my greens.

Quick, healthy and totally slap dash – that is what food needs to be right now.

Ingredients:

  • Couple of handfuls of pea shoots
  • 250g fresh garden peas
  • 1 avocado, sliced
  • 80g feta cheese
  • Bunch of mint and basil, roughly chopped
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Method:

Firstly cook your peas in a saucepan of boiling water for a few minutes, drain and set aside.

Next, in a large bowl combine the pea shoots, herbs, avocado and cooked peas. Season generously, splash over some olive oil and toss.

Crumble the feta on top and chomp away. Simple.

Serves 2 health freaks.

Leave a Reply

