Egg Salad Sandwich

I’ve always thought that posting a ‘recipe’ for a sandwich was completely redundant, because the best part about a sandwich is the individual creativity that goes into making it. No one sarnie is the same! But egg salad…well..egg salad is something that can only be made better with a recipe. Don’t deny your love for the good old egg mayo, it’s clearly yet secretly the most popular of all sandwiches – I know this because it’s sold out every time I want one. Pet peeve.

I’ll admit it, it’s my fave. When I was younger (circa ’94) a girl, whose name shall not be disclosed, called me out on my egg salad sandwich. So I went home and vowed never to eat another like it again, ashamed that my mum had ever packed such a friendship deal-breaker in my lunchbox.

That vow was obviously never fulfilled, because it is the best. sandwich. ever.

I also apologised to my mum later in life for making her feel bad about the sandwich.

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs, hard-boiled
  • 2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon wholegrain mustard
  • ½ teaspoon creamy horseradish
  • Some lemon zest and juice
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground pepper

Method:

Remove the white from two of the eggs so you are left with four whole and two egg yolks. Dice the eggs and put into a bowl.

In a separate bowl mix together the rest of the ingredients, adding seasoning and lemon to taste. Add the mayonnaise mix to the eggs a teaspoon at a time (I would probably use about 4 teaspoons for this quantity of eggs), using a fork to mix everything in. Check the seasoning and it’s sandwich time.

Get your best bread involved, throw in some greens, watercress, lambs lettuce, pea shoots or what have you. Slice some tomatoes, or some gherkins if you fancy.

Makes enough for around 4 sandwiches.

Leave a Reply

