Pea and Mint Houmous

So it’s been a while. In fact it has been a lengthy 20 days since I last updated my blog. The neglect has been preying on my mind. The truth is that I’ve been away in places where life revolved around food, yet I was nowhere near a kitchen. Sad, yet happy times.

But I’m back and I bring you this. Pea and mint houmous. Anyone who’s had a gander through some of the recipes on here will know I’m not a traditionalist when  it comes to food, and houmous is absolutely no exception. Houmous in any shape or form is houmous to me. It doesn’t need to include chickpeas, it can be any of an array of interesting, vibrant colours, and as long as it’s been made with at least a dollop of tahini, it’s houmous to me.

I’ll admit it, when I made this it was a relatively fragile morning, and due to my lethargic stupor I had no qualms about painstakingly shelling 300g of peas one by one. But seriously, unless you have a couple of hours of your life that you don’t want back, I strongly recommend for you to use the peas with skin and all.

My current idea of sandwich heaven: pitta, pea and mint houmous, crumbled feta and kalamata olives.

Ingredients:

  • 300g fresh peas
  • 1 clove of garlic, roughly chopped
  • Around 10g of fresh mint, roughly chopped (reserve some for garnish)
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1 ½ tablespoons tahini
  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt
  • Freshly ground pepper

Method:

Firstly cook the peas in slightly salted boiling water until quite tender, around 5 minutes. Drain and set aside to cool slightly *. Once the peas have cooled down, throw them into a blender with the chopped mint, garlic and three tablespoons of olive oil. Give it all a blitz until you’ve got a smooth, thick consistency. Now add half of the lemon juice and half of the tahini, and blend before repeating with the rest of the lemon and tahini.

Transfer your houmous to a bowl and finish it by hand by stirring in another tablespoon of olive oil. Season with salt and pepper and check the taste. Add more seasoning or lemon juice as necessary.

Garnish with chopped mint and a glug of olive oil.

 

 

* If you’re planning on shelling your peas, do this now.

2 responses

    • Hahaha! I didn’t anticipate that shelling the peas would take so long, but an hour in I realised I had fully committed to the task and there was no turning back! Made one hell of a sandwich 🙂

Leave a Reply

